Main Content

English Dept Faculty & Staff

Full-Time English Faculty
Part-Time English Faculty
Emeriti

Full-Time Faculty

 

BarawCharles Baraw
Office: EN 274D
Phone: (203) 392-6733
barawc1@southernct.edu

 

 

 

BlackmerCorinne Blackmer
American Literature, Gay and Lesbian Literature, Hebrew Bible

Office: EN 236D
Phone: (203) 392-6715
blackmerc1@southernct.edu 

 

CrawfordIlene Crawford
Rhetoric and Composition, Women’s Studies
Office: EN 263D
Phone: (203) 392-7051
crawfordi1@southernct.edu

 

 

DodsonJoel M. Dodson
Graduate Program Director; English Renaissance Literature, Critical Theory
Office: EN 280D
Phone: (203) 392-6903
dodsonj2@southernct.edu

 

 

Ellis Scott Ellis
Early American Literature, American Renaissance
Office: EN 234D
Phone: (203) 392-6742
elliss3@southernct.edu                    

 

 

FluhrNicole Fluhr
Victorian Literature, British Novel
Office: EN 249D
Phone: (203) 392-6739
fluhrn1@southernct.edu

 

 

FureyRachel Furey
Creative Writing, Fiction 
Office: EN 258D 
Phone: (203) 392-7099 
fureyr1@southernct.edu 

 

HendersonNicole M. Henderson
Rhetoric and Composition, First Year Experience
Office: EN 222D
Phone: (203) 392-6196
hendersonn1@southernct.edu

   

Hutchinson

Brandon Hutchinson
African-American Literature
Office: EN 242D
Phone: (203) 392-6720
hutchinsonb1@southernct.edu

 

 

JohnsonBrian Johnson
Composition Director; Rhetoric and Composition, Poetry
Office: EN 248D
Phone: (203) 392-7049
johnsonb2@southernct.edu

 

 

Kalbfleisch Elizabeth Kalbfleisch
Rhetoric and Composition
Office: ENG D 257
Phone: 203-392-6732
kalbfleisce1@southernct.edu

 

KerrAudrey Kerr
African-American Literature
Office: EN 240D
Phone: (203) 392-5114
kerra1@southernct.edu

 

Larocco Steven M. Larocco
17th-Century Literature, Critical Theory
Office: EN 239D
Phone: (203) 392-5494
laroccos1@southernct.edu

 

 

Lawrence Jason C. Lawrence
Professional Writing
Office: EN 254D 
Phone: (203) 392-9020 
lawrencej14@southernct.edu

 

 

McEachern Robert W. McEachern
Assistant Chair; Professional Writing, Rhetoric and Composition
Office: EN 261D
Phone: (203) 392-5526
mceachernr1@southernct.edu

  

 

MockJeff Mock
Creative Writing, Poetry
Office: EN 241D
Phone: (203) 392-5527
mockj1@southernct.edu

 

Neverow Vara S. Neverow
British Literature, Women’s Studies, Feminist Theory
Office: EN 231D
Phone: (203) 392-6717
neverowv1@southernct.edu

 

Ogbaa Kalu Ogbaa
African Literature, African-American Literature, Modern Poetry
Office: EN 225D
Phone: (203) 392-6738
                                 ogbaak1@southernct.edu 

 

ParrishTimothy L. Parrish
Creative Writing, Fiction
Office: EN 235D
Phone: (203) 392-6745
parrisht1@southernct.edu

  

Petrie Paul R. Petrie
American Literature
Office: EN 251D
Phone: (203) 392-6757
petriep1@southernct.edu

 

 

Andrew RichmondAndrew M. Richmond
British Literature, Medieval Studies
Office: EN D276
Phone: (203) 392-5024
richmonda1@southernct.edu

 

 

RossoTony Rosso
British Romanticism, 18th Century Literature
Office: EN 246D
Phone: (203) 392-6744
rossog1@southernct.edu

 

 

SheaMichael Shea
Shakespeare, Contemporary Theatre, Film
Office: EN D265B
Phone: (203) 392-6741
sheam1@southernct.edu

 

Shipley Vivian Shipley
Creative Writing, Poetry
Office: EN 245D
Phone: (203) 392-6737
shipleyv1@southernct.edu

 

 

Sinclair Meredith N. Sinclair 
English Secondary Education
Office: EN 259D
Phone: (203) 392-7048
sinclairm4@southernct.edu

 

 

Smyth Andrew Smyth 
Department Chair; English Secondary Education
Office: EN D265B
Phone: (203) 392-6998
smytha2@southernct.edu

 

 

Sonnenschein Dana L. Sonnenschein
Shakespeare, British Literature
Office: EN 237D
Phone: (203) 392-6735
sonnensched1@southernct.edu 

 

Stretch Cynthia Stretch
American Literature, American Renaissance
Office: EN 243D
Phone: (203) 392-5525
stretchc1@southernct.edu

 

Talhelm Melissa A. Talhelm
Secondary Education Director; English Secondary Education
Office: EN D272
Phone: (203) 392-6895
talhelmm1@southernct.edu

 

 

Part-Time FAcultY

 

Renee Ahmeti

Email: walkerr16@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Elvisa Babaca

Email: babacae1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112

 

Katelyn Bellmore

Email: bellmorek1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110

 

Sean Brierley

Email: brierleys2@southernct.edu

Office: Online by appointment

Recent Courses: ENG 304 (Technical Writing and Communication); ENG 316 (Writing for Business and Industry)

 

Business and technical communication professional, interests in soccer, Subarus, and fire/EMS first response

 

Dina Brun

Email: brund1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D233

Hours: TR 11-12:15

Recent Courses: ENG 312 (Grammar Systems of English); WLL 211 (Intro to Linguistics); WLL 403 (Intro to Second Language Acquisition); TSL 505 (Pedagogical Grammar of English for TESOL)

 

·       Language education, bilingualism, and bilingual education, first and second language acquisition, code switching

·       Slavic syntax

·       Word order effects, scrambling phenomena

·       Psycholinguistics, real-time sentence processing, interpretation of anaphoric expressions

 

MA (Linguistics), Yale University

MPhil, Yale University

 

Website: https://www.linkedin.com/in/dina-brun

 

Kimberly Butz-Durkota

Email: durkotak1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Elena Byrne

Email: byrnee3@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: M/W 1:15-1:55pm

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112

 

Juris Doctor: First Amendment

British Literature: Bernard Shaw (19th century literature/laws)

 

Thomas Connor

Email: connort1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D244

Recent Courses: ENG 110

 

Diane Cook

Email: cookd11@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 119

 

Evan DeCarlo

Email: decarloe2@southernct.edu

Office: EN D244

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Sophia Diamantis

Email: diamantiss1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 119

 

Rebecca Dimyan

Email: dimyanr1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

 

Adrienne Dowd

Email: dowda1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: TR 9:30-10:50am

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

I earned my Bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Oregon and my Master’s degree in English Literature from the University of Connecticut. My areas of study were World and Modern American Literature and Critical Theory. I have taught throughout Connecticut at UCONN, Eastern, Southern, and Quinnipiac and for two years in Oklahoma at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College.

 

Margaret Dunn

Email: dunnm2@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: TR 1-3pm

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

PhD in Linguistics, with interest in language change and linguistic rhythm.

 

Stephanie Fischer

Email: fischers5@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: English 316 W online (Writing for Business and Industry)

 

BA Barnard College, Columbia University

MBA Rutgers University

MA University of Iowa

 

Areas of Interest: Business, Professional and Academic Writing

 

Mary Fricke

Email: frickem1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: TR 1:15-1:45pm and by appointment

Recent Courses: ENG 316 (Writing for Business and Industry)

 

Experienced human resources professional and business communicator with an MBA and a specialization in talent acquisition. Have published numerous articles in magazines, newspapers, trade journals/newsletters, and online. Particular interest in employment communications.

 

Have worked in varied industries, including financial services, commercial real estate, agricultural and energy commodity trading and operations, biotechnology and pharmaceutical market research, vocational/higher education and publishing.

 

Website: https://www.linkedin.com/in/frickemary

 

Janelle Gallant

Email: gallantj3@southernct.edu 

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 120

 

Jennifer Garcia 

Email: garciaj22@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Sarah Greco

Email: greens14@southernct.edu

Office: Schwartz Hall 105

Hours: By appointment

Recent Courses: INQ 101

 

Lee Hornbrook

Email: hornbrookl1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Phylis J. Iqbal

Email: iqbalp1@southernct.edu

Office: By Appointment Only

 

Megan Koonze

Email: koonzem1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112

 

After graduating with a Bachelor of Science in English from the honor’s program at SCSU and then completing my Master of Science in English at SCSU, I made the transition from student to adjunct professor.  I have taught high school English for the past 15 years, primarily at the Sound School in New Haven.  I also completed my Sixth Year in Educational Leadership at Sacred Heart in 2016, graduating with the Dean’s Leadership Award. 

 

Jason Labbe

Email: labbej3@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 201

 

Suzanne LaCroix, MFA

Email: lacroixs1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: M/W 10-11am and 1-2 pm

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112; ENG 201

 

BA in English Literature, UCONN

MFA in Creative Writing/Fiction, SCSU

 

Catherine Lamont

Email: lamontc1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 240; ENG 316

 

Shelby Lanaro

Email: lanaros1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D245

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Dr. Sharon Lattig

Email: lattigs1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: M/W 5:00-6:00 pm

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112; ENG 200; ENG 307

 

Dr. Lattig holds an M.A. in creative writing from the City College of New York and a Ph.D. in English from the CUNY Graduate Center. She is an active poet and theorist whose primary interests lie in the areas of cognitive poetics and ecopoetics. She has taught over thirty different courses addressing various genres and periods of literature, as well as composition and creative writing, including as a Fulbright Scholar in Germany. Her poetry has appeared recently in the journal Diaphanous. Her new book of literary criticism entitled Cognitive Ecopoetics: A New Theory of Lyric will be released in 2019.

 

Darcey Lovell

Email: lovelld1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110

 

Gina Mariconda

Email: maricondag1@southernct.edu 

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Damien Mason

Email: masond5@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110

 

Isabel Buck McEachern

Email: mceacherni1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: TR 11-12

Recent Courses: ENG110; ENG112

 

Adjunct instructor of English at SCSU since Fall 1997 and adjunct instructor of English, Communications and in College of Advancement Studies at GWCC since 2012. Previously taught at Northeastern University, Montgomery Community College, Jefferson Community College, the University of Louisville and Quinnipiac University. B.A. from Loyola College, Maryland, and M.A. from Northeastern University, both in English. At Southern, I have also taught INQ and in the summer Bridges program, been an academic advisor for first year students and served on the English Placement and Comp. Steering Committees. Special interests: under-prepared students, returning adult students and ELL students.

 

Valerie McKee

Email: mckeev1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D250

Recent Courses: ENG 201

 

Michele Merlo

Email: merlom1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D232

Hours: TR 2-3

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112; ENG 201

 

Graduate Teaching Assistant under the mentorship of Will Hochman 2008-2009

Professional Actor:  Member of Actors Equity Association and SAG-AFTRA

Professional Writing Tutor at Lyme Academy of Fine Arts

 

Pat Mottola

Email: mottolap1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: MWF 11:00 a.m. – 12 noon

Recent Courses: ENG 201 (Intro to Creative Writing)

 

Pat Mottola teaches Creative Writing at Southern Connecticut State University, where she earned both an M.S. in Art Education and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing. She also teaches art and poetry to senior citizens throughout Connecticut. An award-winning poet and Pushcart Prize nominee, her work is published in journals across the country. On a global scale, she has mentored Afghan women writers living in Afghanistan through the Afghan Women’s Writing Project. Pat is currently Co-President of the Connecticut Poetry Society. She is the author of two collections of poetry, Under the Red Dress and After Hours (Five Oaks Press).

 

Website: patmottolapoetry.net  

 

Laura Obringer

Email: obringerl1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Jennie O’Reilly

Email: oreillyj2@southernct.edu

Office: EN D263

Recent Courses: ENG 112

 

Michaela Papa

Email: papam7@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110

 

Anne Rizza

Email: rizzaa1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112

 

Sarah Rizzuto

Email: rizzutos1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D250

Recent Courses: ENG 201

 

Michael Ruscoe

Email: ruscoem1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

 

Margot Schilpp

Email: schilppm1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D241

Hours: By Appointment

Recent Courses: INQ 101; ENG 112; ENG 201; ENG 203

 

Interested in English Composition and Creative Writing

 

Debra Judge Silber

Email: silberd1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: TR 1-1:45 p.m.

Recent Courses: ENG 112 (Writing Arguments); INQ 101 (Introduction to Intellectual and Creative Inquiry)

 

Deb Silber is a writer and editor with a background in newspaper and magazine writing, editing and management. Her published work embraces subjects ranging from home design to history, family life and business, and includes newswriting, feature articles and essays. She is currently editor-at-large for New England Home magazine and writes regularly on architecture and design. She holds a B.A from State University of New York at Albany and an MFA from Southern Connecticut State University.

 

Website: debrajudgesilber.com

 

Frederic Sinclair

Email: sinclairf1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: By appointment

Recent Courses: ENG 201 (Introduction to Creative Writing)

 

BA UCONN; MFA in Fiction, Boston University. Frederic has taught Intro to Creative Writing at Boston University and Boston Arts Academy. Frederic’s interests and subjects he has taught include: creative writing, fiction, playwriting, poetry, and creative non-fiction.

 

Paul Sorensen

Email: sorensenp1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112

 

Maggie Stevens

Email: stevensm10@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: W 6-7pm

Recent Courses: ENG 119; ENG 120

 

I’m a professional learning specialist, so I teach teachers to make learning accessible to all their students. As a classroom teacher to English learners, my goal is to increase proficiency in both culture and language. I’m interested in the intersection of linguistics and writing.

 

Website: Twitter: @maggiestelo

 

Shelley Stoehr-McCarthy

Email: stoehrmccam1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: Tu. 1-3pm; Th. 12:30-2pm

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112

 

Shelley Stoehr-McCarthy is an MFA candidate slotted to graduate in S2019. Shelley writes fiction and is a former YA novelist, author of the first YA novel about self-injury, Crosses (1991). Recently, her work has appeared in Fresh Ink, The Gordian Review, Dead Alive Magazine, and ImageOutWriteShe received an honorable mention in the 2017 Writer's Digest Annual Competition and was a runner-up in WOW! Women on Writing's flash fiction contest (2017).

 

Website: www.shelleystoehr.com

 

Drew Stutsman

Email: stutsmand1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112

 

Janusz Stygares

Email: stygaresj1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110

 

Anjali Wason

Email: wasona1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 112; ENG 120; ENG 494 

 

Anjali Wason teaches English 110, 112, 120 and 494 at SCSU. She also teaches at Gateway Community College and has taught at Kingsborough Community College in Brooklyn, NY.  She was a high school English teacher with NYC's Department of Education for five years. She has worked as a journalist and her book, Body Talk, is published by HarperCollins. 

 

Leon Weinmann

Email: weinmannl1@southernct.edu

Office: EN D256

Recent Courses: ENG 201; ENG 219

 

Pavelle Wesser-Mitra

Email: wessermitrp1@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Recent Courses: ENG 110; ENG 200

 

Christopher Westcott

Email: Westcottc2@southernct.edu

Office: EN B231B

Hours: MWF 1:00-3:00 p.m.

Recent Courses: ENG110; ENG112

 

I have taught collegiate composition for three years at four different Connecticut institutions and held a position in Academic Advising. I attained a Bachelor’s in English and two Master’s in Teaching Secondary Education and Higher Education Administration.

 

My current interests are found in modern or post-modern literature as well as Biblical studies, both the Old and New Testament. Aside from these academic hobbies, I love to exercise, play sports, read, write, enjoy family and friends, and be an active participant in Church and the community.



Emeriti

 

Ken Florey, Professor
African-American Literature, History of the English Language, Mythology

Office: EN274D
Phone: (203) 392-6733
floreyk1@southernct.edu 


Mark Heidmann, Professor
Biblical Literature, Religion and Literature, American Literature
heidmannm1@southernct.edu


James F. Rhodes, Professor
Chaucer, Medieval Literature
Office: EN 233D
Phone: (203) 392-6897
rhodesj1@southernct.edu