Main Content

Faculty Directory

Click on the names on the left to see more information about each faculty member.

Click here to see a list of current faculty research projects.

 

FULL-TIME FACULTY  

   
Dr. Jo Ann Abe
Affective Science, Personality
Engleman D 033  

(203) 392-6861
abej1@southernct.edu


Recent Courses taught:
PSY 228 Personality
PSY 465 Seminar in Psychological Counseling
PSY 398 Human Emotions (Special Topics)
Dr. Kristine Anthis
Lifespan Development, Personality
Engleman D 063  

(203) 392-5110
anthisk1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 210 Infant & Child Development
PSY 215 Adolescent Psychology
PSY 219 Lifespan Psychology
PSY 415 Topics in Development
Dr. Gayle Bessenoff
Social Psychology
Engleman D 042  

(203) 392-5561
bessenoffg1@southernct.edu

Recent Courses taught:
PSY 227 Social Psychology
PSY 398 Psych of Consumer Behavior (Special Topics)
PSY 393 Experimental Methods
PSY 490 Psychology of Overconsumption (Senior Seminar)
PSY 412 Psychology of Women
PSY 589 Thesis Seminar
Dr. Kelly Bordner
Behavioral Neuroscience
Engleman D 039  

(203) 392-6862
bordnerk2@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 100 Introduction to Psychology
PSY 383 Brain & Behavior
PSY 490 Myth Busters (Senior Seminar)
PSY 583 Sem. in Comparative Physiological Psych

 Dr. Larry Brancazio (Chairperson)
Cognitive Psychology
Engleman D 069B  

(203) 392-5111
brancaziol1@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 259 Statistics in Psychology
PSY 303 Perception
PSY 313 Cognition

 Dr. Deborah A. Carroll
Neuroscience, Developmental Psychology
Engleman D 037

(203) 392-6878
carrolld1@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 259 Statistics in Psychology
PSY 383 Brain & Behavior
PSY 487 Psychopharmacology
PSY 494 Seminar in Human Nervous System

Dr. Kevin Colwell
Clinical Psychology & Mental Health
Engleman D 067

(203) 392-6871
colwellk2@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 465 Seminar in Psychological Counseling
PSY 492 Psychology of Law
PSY 528 Psychopathology
PSY 544 Clinical Methods: Personality & Social Assessment
PSY 545
Practicum in Psychological Assessment and Report Writing

 Dr. Cheryl Durwin
Educational Psychology, Cognitive Development
Engleman D 065  

(203) 392-5562
durwinc1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 370 Educational Psychology
PSY 431 Tests and Measurements
PSY 500 Design & Analysis in Psychology
PSY 503 Cognition and Memory
PSY 505 Contemporary Theories of Motivation
PSY 589 Thesis Seminar

Dr. W. Jerome Hauselt
Cognitive Psychology
Engleman D 051  

(203) 392-6874
hauseltw1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 100 Introduction to Psychology
PSY 259 Statistics in Psychology
PSY 313 Cognition

Dr. Julia Irwin
Developmental Psychology, Psychology of Language
Engleman D 046  

(203) 392-8804
irwinj1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 210 Infant & Child Development
PSY 393 Experimental Methods
PSY 406 Language
PSY 462 Data Gathering Techniques: Instrumentation

Dr. John Jacobs
Personality, Social Psychology
Engleman D 041  

(203) 392-6873
jacobsj1@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 321 Abnormal Psychology
PSY 427 Seminar in Close Relationships
PSY 517 Seminar in Social Psychology

 Dr. Patricia Kahlbaugh
Developmental Psychology, History & Systems of Psychology
Engleman D 049  

(203) 392-6891
kahlbaughp1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 306 Understanding Intelligence
PSY 393 Experimental Methods
PSY 401 History & Systems of Psychology
PSY 502 Problems in Psychology

 Dr. Deborah Tebes Kraemer
Clinical Psychology & Mental Health
Engleman D 059  

(203) 392-6867
kraemerd1@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 471 Seminar in Psychological Services
PSY 472 Field Practicum in Psychological Services
Dr. Katherine Marsland
Developmental Psychology
Engleman D 043

(203) 392-6865
marslandk2@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 210 Infant & Child Development
PSY 393 Experimental Methods
PSY 415 Topics in Development
PSY 505 Contemporary Theories of Motivation

Dr. Dina Moore 
Cognitive Psychology
Engleman D 045  

(203) 392-6860
moored14@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 100 Introduction to Psychology
PSY 259 Statistics in Psychology
PSY 300 Psychology Major: Curriculum and Careers
PSY 303 Perception
PSY 313 Cognition

Dr. Michael Nizhnikov 
Behavioral Neuroscience
Engleman D 040

(203) 392-8886
nizhnikovm1@southernct.edu  
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 259 Statistics in Psychology
PSY 383 Brain & Behavior
PSY 490 Neurobiology of Addiction (Senior Seminar)

Dr. Claire Novosad 
Developmental Psychology
Engleman D 044

(203) 392-6863  
novosadc1@southernct.edu 

Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 208/398 Mysteries and Science of Sleep 
PSY 210 Infant & Child Development
PSY 318 Social & Emotional Development
PSY 415 Topics in Development
PSY 490 Exploration of the Self (Senior Seminar)

Dr. William Sherman
Clinical Psychology & Mental Health, Educational Psychology
Engleman D 061  

 (203) 392-6877
shermanw1@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:
PSY 321 Abnormal Psychology
PSY 366 Health Psychology
PSY 370/371 Educational Psychology
PSY 474 Seminar in Behavior Therapy & Practice
PSY 490 Movies & Mental Illness (Senior Seminar)
PSY 557 Behavior Modification and Therapy

Dr. Kelly Stiver
Evolutionary Psychology, Behavioral Neuroscience
Engleman D 047  

(203) 392-6866
stiverk1@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 100 Introduction to Psychology
PSY 311 Learning
PSY 484 Comparative Animal Behavior

Dr. Jessica Suckle-Nelson
Social Psychology
Engleman D053  

 (203) 392-5860
 sucklenelsj1@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 227 Social Psychology
PSY 393 Experimental Methods
PSY 398 Social Psych of Stereotypes & Prejudice (Special Topics)
PSY 412 Psychology of Women
PSY 490 Psychology of Spirituality (Senior Seminar)
PSY 500 Design & Analysis in Psychology
PSY 589 Thesis Seminar
Dr. Kenneth Walters
Clinical Psychology & Mental Health
Engleman D035  

 (203) 392-6935
 waltersk4@southernct.edu
 
Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 220 Introduction to Mental Health
PSY 320 Child Abnormal Psychology
PSY 321 Abnormal Psychology
PSY 490 Seminar in Clinical Psychology (Senior Seminar)

PART-TIME FACULTY 

 

Prof. Dawn Biondi
Engleman D 032 

Voicemail: (203) 392-6890
biondid2@southernct.edu


Recent Courses taught:
PSY 219 Lifespan Development
PSY 311  Learning
PSY 318 Social & Emotional Development
Prof. Paul Burinskas
Engleman D 034 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6875
burinskasp1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 100 Introduction to Psychology
PSY 219 Lifespan Psychology
PSY 228 Personality
Dr. Marguerite Capone
Engleman D 036 
caponem1@southernct.edu
(email only)

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 210 Infant & Child Development
PSY 215 Adolescent Psychology

PSY 219 Lifespan Psychology
PSY 370/371 Educational Psychology
Prof. Andy Carrano
Engleman D 034 
Voicemail:(203) 392-6875

carranoa1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 370/371 Educational Psychology
PSY 431 Tests and Measurements
PSY 543 Clinical Methods: Cognitive Assessment
Prof. Michele DeLucia
Engleman D 032 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6890

madconsulting@snet.net

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 361 Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Prof. Henry Goldstein
Engleman D 038 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6876

hlg@drg.necoxmail.com

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 220 Introduction to the Mental Health Field
Prof. Ron Hamel
Engleman D 032 
profrh@hotmail.com
(email only)

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 227 Social Psychology
PSY 228 Personality
PSY 366 Health Psychology
Dr. Kristy Huntley
Engleman D 038 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6876

Kristyhuntley9@gmail.com

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 370/371 Educational Psychology
PSY 393 Experimental Methods
Prof. Beverly Lavin
Engleman D 036 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6892

lavinb1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 210 Infant and Child Development
PSY 219 Lifespan Psychology
PSY 228 Personality
Dr. Madeleine Leveille
Engleman D 034 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6875

leveillem1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 412 Psychology of Women
PSY 527 Abnormal Child Psychology
Dr. Ragaa Mazen (Prof. Emeritus)
Engleman D 038 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6876

mazenr1@southernct.edu


Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 461 Data Gathering Techniques: Assessment
Dr. James Mazur (Prof. Emeritus)
Engleman D 038 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6876

mazurj1@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 259 Statistics in Psychology
PSY 311 Learning
Prof. Ralph Nuzzo
Engleman D 036 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6892

nuzzor2@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 370/371 Educational Psychology
PSY 431 Tests and Measurements
Prof. MaryEllen O'Sullivan
Engleman D 032 
Voicemail: (203) 392-6890

osullivanm2@southernct.edu

Recent
Courses taught:

PSY 210 Infant and Child Development
Prof. Tonya Rondinone
Engleman D 032 
rondinonet2@southernct.edu
(email only)

Recent Courses taught:

PSY 100 Introduction to Psychology
PSY 219 Lifespan Psychology
PSY 492 Psychology and Law