Public Health Department Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Jean Breny

Dr. Jean Breny
Professor & Department Chair

Community-based participatory research, sexual health promotion,
women’s health

Office:OR 102
Phone:  (203) 392-7008
brenyj1@southernct.edu

Dr. Stanley Bernard

Dr. Stanley Bernard
Associate Professor & Coordinator of Internship Programs

Fatherhood and family formation, health disparities, health administration
and management, children’s mental health

Office:  OR 205
Phone:  (203) 392-7304
bernards3@southernct.edu

 Dr. Kimberly Doughty

Dr . Kimberly Doughty
Assistant Professor

Childhood obesity, maternal and infant nutrition, breastfeeding promotion

Office: OR 100
Phone: (203) 392-7266
doughtyk1@southernct.edu

 Dr. Marian Evans

Dr. Marian Evans
Assistant Director

Women's health, environmental health, health equity, public-private
partnerships

Office: OR 100
Phone: (203) 392-6924
evansm7@southernct.edu

Dr. William Faraclas

Dr. William Faraclas
Professor

Program and curriculum development, community assessment, evaluation of
community-based public health programs, effects of participation in study
abroad experiences

Office: OR 203
Phone:  (203) 392-6969
faraclasw1@southernct.edu

Dr. Deborah Flynn

Dr. Deborah Flynn
Associate Professor & Graduate Program Coordinator

Mental health, PTSD, veterans’ health, mindfulness meditation and yoga,
narrative inquiry


Office:  OB 105B
Phone:  (203) 392-6958
flynnd1@southernct.edu

Dr. Peggy Gallup

Dr. Peggy Gallup
Professor & Undergraduate Program Coordinator


Office:  OR 202
Phone:  (203) 392-6961
gallupp1@southernct.edu

 Dr. Aukje Lamonica

Dr. Aukje Lamonica
Assistant Professor

Social determinants of drug use, addiction, ethnography

Office: OB1 - 105 D
Phone: (203) 392-6913
lamonicaa1@southernct.edu

 Dr. Michael Mink

Dr. Michael Mink
Associate Professor

Nutrition and obesity, media influence, sexual minority health, violence
and drug use

Office:  OR 204
Phone:  (203) 392-6840
minkm1@southernct.edu

Dr. John Nwangwu

Dr. John Nwangwu
Professor

Infectious diseases, disease control, quality of care, minority health

Office: OB 108H
Phone:  (203) 392-6959
nwangwuj1@southernct.edu

Dr. Deb Risisky

Dr. Deb Risisky
Associate Professor

Program evaluation, adolescent health, interpersonal violence

Office:  OR 205
Phone:  (203) 392-5136
risiskyd1@southernct.edu

Dr. Christine Unson

Dr. Christine Unson
Associate Professor

Aging and work-life extension, participation in clinical trials, caregiver
burden, predictors of student success

Office:  OB 105
Phone:  (203) 392-7029
unsonc1@southernct.edu

Dr. Michele Vancour

Dr. Michele Vancour
Professor
Office:  OR 202

Work-life in higher education, breastfeeding perceptions, initiation
and maintenance, lactation support in higher education, women in
higher education


Phone:  (203) 392-5530
vancourm1@southernct.edu

 Dr. Victoria Zigmont

Dr. Victoria Zigmont
Assistant Professor

Health promotion, disease prevention, epidemiology methods

Phone: (203) 392-7246
Office: OR 204
zigmontv1@southernct.edu