Student Announcements


2013 Annual Nancy Marano W-course Writing Contest Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 annual Nancy Marano W-Course Writing Contest. The winners were honored at the final University Curriculum Forum Meeting on Thursday, April 25. Each winner received a commemorative certificate and a Barnes & Noble gift card provided by Student Government. Dean Ellen Durnin represented the administration; Dean Durnin spoke about the importance of writing across the curriculum and written communication skills in general. A reception followed the presentation of awards.

First place ($250 gift card) went to Sarah E. Green for her paper titled "Indirect Interior
Monologue in Henry James’ Washington Square."

Second Place ($100 gift card) was awarded to Mackenzie Hurlbert for her paper "An
American in Hollywood."

The Third Place winner ($50 gift card) was given to Kacey Damiano for the paper "The
Arid and Semiarid Great Plains of the United States."

Matt Sherman’s paper "Coughin' from Coffins. The potential hazards of crematorium
emissions" was awarded Honorable Mention ($25 gift card).

Deborah Carroll and Astrid Eich-Krohm,
Co-Directors, University Writing Across the Curriculum Program

The Nancy Marano Writing Across the Curriculum Awards were established in memory of Dr. Nancy Marano, professor in the School of Education, Elementary Education, in honor of her commitment to the mission of the Writing Across the Curriculum Program and her dedication to improvement of student writing.

This award is sponsored by the Writing Across the Curriculum Program and the SCSU Student Government Association.