Strategic Planning Process

Preparation for a new strategic plan began in the Spring of 2022 with the formation of the President's Strategic Advisory Council. Initially, the University engaged in discussions with senior leaders and held forums with students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members to both affirm the mission of the University and refine its strategic goals and objectives. Southern then partnered with EAB to better define its strategic position and differentiators. The University also engaged with AASCU to build a strategic roadmap to advance key priorities that were established prior to launching a full strategic planning process for Southern.

The initial work led to *Our Priorities for 2023 and Beyond*, which outlined six strategic priorities and 12 short-term actions for institutional impact.

- Advancing Social Justice and Anti-Racism
- Maintaining Academic Excellence
- Driving Enrollment
- Ensuring Student Success
- Engaging Our Community and Expanding our Reach
- Preparing for the Future (later named Achieving a Sustainable Future)

In early Spring 2023, the President's Strategic Advisory Council (PSAC), comprised of faculty, administrators, and staff, began work on a three-year strategic plan as proposed by President Joe Bertolino. Work groups were formed around each of these strategic priorities to review information and data, gain clarity around the priority, and engage in thoughtful conversations to identify measurable outcomes, strategies, and actions. Work groups were each co-chaired by one relevant Vice President and one faculty or staff member. Across several months, each work group engaged key stakeholders from across campus to seek input and inform its work. This effort culminated in June 2023, with each of the six workgroups presenting to PSAC goals, outcomes, and action steps for their input. Relevant revisions were made resulting in a fully vetted set of action items to advance the collectively determined priorities.

In the summer of 2023, Southern welcomed a new President, Dr. Dwayne Smith. At this time, SCSU was facing new financial realities that added additional factors for consideration. As a result, the strategic plan was reevaluated and extended from three to five years in duration. Under Dr. Smith's leadership, the strategic plan document *Leading the Way 2023-2028* was finalized with four major priorities:

- Enrollment, Retention, Persistence and Degree Completion Success
- Cultivating a Community of Scholars
- Justice, Equity, and Excellence
- Community Engagement

With the revisioning from six to four major themes, previous boundaries were crossed and specific goals and ideas under different, expanded headers. Informed by the effort of the previously mentioned work groups, five-year goals were set for each of the priority areas, including measurable metrics. Subsequently, the Vice Presidents reviewed the action items presented by the six work groups, aligned these actions with the four priorities, and added action items to goals that aligned with the intent of the original work of PSAC. The resulting 2023-2028 Strategic Action Plan serves as a roadmap for accomplishing the SCSU goals while recognizing that it is a fluid document that will need to be responsive to changing conditions. President's Strategic Advisory Council Work Groups

Advancing Social Justice and Anti-Racism

Diane Ariza, Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Co-Chair Judite Vamvakides, Associate Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Co-Chair Jes Kraus, Chief Human Resources Officer Miriah Kelly, Assistant Professor of Environment, Geography and Marine Sciences Thomas Kealy, ACE Fellow

Maintaining Academic Excellence

Robert Prezant, Provost, Co-Chair Elliott Horch, Department Chair and CSU Professor of Physics, Co-Chair David Pettigrew, Professor of Philosophy Patrick Crowley, Head of Special Collections, Library Services Trudy Milburn, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Kenneth McGill, Professor of Anthropology Bruce Kalk, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences Edward (Rusty) May, Director of Technology Administration

Driving Enrollment

Julie Edstrom, Co-Chair Benjamin Abugri, MBA Director and Professor of Finance, Co-Chair Stephen Hegedus, Dean, College of Education Nilvio Perez, Director of First-Year Admissions Meredith Sinclair, Associate Professor, Secondary English Education, Chair, University Curriculum Forum Patrick Dilger, Director, Integrated Communications and Marketing Jules Tetreault, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students Laurie Bonjo, Associate Professor of Counseling and School Psychology

Ensuring Student Success

Tracy Tyree, Vice President for Student Affairs, Co-Chair Barbara Cook, Chair, Graduate Council, Associate Professor, Communication Disorders, Co-Chair Helen Marx, Faculty Director of Academic Advising and Professor of Curriculum and Learning Thierry Thesatus, Associate Dean for Career and Student Success Julia Irwin, Interim Dean of Graduate and Professional Studies/Professor of Psychology Mary Boudreaux, Associate Professor of Education, Leadership & Policy/Coordinator of Ed.D. Program Jess Boronico, Dean of School of Business

Engaging Our Community and Expanding our Reach

Michael Kingan, Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Co-Chair K.C. Councilor, Associate Professor of Communication, Media and Screen Studies, Co-Chair Chris Barker, Director of Athletics and Recreation Kelvin Rutledge, Associate Vice President for Institutional Inclusive Strategies and Change Management Sandra Bulmer, Dean, College of Health and Human Services Michael Sormrude, Professor of Biology

Achieving a Sustainable Future

Mark Rozewski (Co-Chair), Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration

Colleen Bielitz (Co-Chair), Assoc. VP for Strategic Initiatives & Outreach Loren Loomis Hubbell, Controller Dennis Reiman, Vice President, Technology & CIO Manohar Singh, Dean of School of Graduate & Professional Studies Junhong Wang, Associate Professor