Main Content

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Charles Baraw
Office: EN 274D
Phone: (203) 392-6733
barawc1@southernct.edu

Corinne Blackmer
American Literature, Gay and Lesbian Literature, Hebrew Bible

Office: EN 236D
Phone: (203) 392-6715
blackmerc1@southernct.edu

Ilene Crawford
Rhetoric and Composition, Women’s Studies
Office: EN 263D
Phone: (203) 392-7051
crawfordi1@southernct.edu

Joel M. Dodson
English Renaissance Literature, Theory
Office: EN 280D
Phone: (203) 392-6903
dodsonj2@southernct.edu

Scott Ellis
Assistant Chair; Early American Literature, American Renaissance
Office: EN 234D
Phone: (203) 392-6742
elliss3@southernct.edu                    

Nicole Fluhr
Graduate Program Director; Victorian Literature, British Novel
Office: EN 249D
Phone: (203) 392-6739
fluhrn1@southernct.edu

Nicole M. Henderson
Rhetoric and Composition, First Year Experience
Office: EN 222D
Phone: (203) 392-6196
hendersonn1@southernct.edu

Brandon Hutchinson
African-American Literature
Office: EN 242D
Phone: (203) 392-6720
hutchinsonb1@southernct.edu

Brian Johnson
Composition Director; Rhetoric and Composition, Poetry
Office: EN 248D
Phone: (203) 392-7049
johnsonb2@southernct.edu

Elizabeth Kalbfleisch
Writing Center Director; Rhetoric and Composition
Office: ENG D 257
Phone: 203-392-6732
kalbfleisce1@southernct.edu

Audrey Kerr
African-American Literature
Office: EN 240D
Phone: (203) 392-5114
kerra1@southernct.edu

Steven M. Larocco
17th Century Literature, Theory
Office: EN 239D
Phone: (203) 392-5494
laroccos1@southernct.edu

Jason C. Lawrence
Professional Writing
Office: EN 254D 
Phone: (203) 392-9020 
lawrencej14@southernct.edu

Robert W. McEachern
Assistant Chair; Professional Writing, Rhetoric and Composition
Office: EN 261D
Phone: (203) 392-5526
mceachernr1@southernct.edu

Jeff Mock
Creative Writing, Poetry
Office: EN 241D
Phone: (203) 392-5527
mockj1@southernct.edu

Vara S. Neverow
British Literature, Women’s Studies, Feminist Theory
Office: EN 231D
Phone: (203) 392-6717
neverowv1@southernct.edu

Kalu Ogbaa
African Literature, African-American Literature, Modern Poetry
Office: EN 225D
Phone: (203) 392-6738
ogbaak1@southernct.edu

Timothy L. Parrish
Creative Writing, Fiction
Office: EN 235D
Phone: (203) 392-6745
parrisht1@southernct.edu

Paul R. Petrie
American Literature
Office: EN 251D
Phone: (203) 392-6757
petriep1@southernct.edu

Tony Rosso
British Romanticism, 18th Century Literature
Office: EN 246D
Phone: (203) 392-6744
rossog1@southernct.edu

Michael Shea
Shakespeare, Contemporary Theatre, Film
Office: EN D265B
Phone: (203) 392-6741
sheam1@southernct.edu

Vivian Shipley
Creative Writing, Poetry
 Office: EN 245D
Phone: (203) 392-6737
shipleyv1@southernct.edu

Meredith N. Sinclair 
English Secondary Education
Office: EN 259D
Phone: (203) 392-7048
sinclairm4@southernct.edu

Andrew Smyth 
Department Chair; English Secondary Education
 Office: EN D265B
Phone: (203) 392-6998
smytha2@southernct.edu

Dana L. Sonnenschein
Shakespeare, British Literature
Office: EN 237D
Phone: (203) 392-6735
sonnensched1@southernct.edu 

Cynthia Stretch
American Literature, American Renaissance
Office: EN 243D
Phone: (203) 392-5525
stretchc1@southernct.edu

Melissa A.Talhelm
Secondary Education Director; English Secondary Education
Office: EN D272
Phone: (203) 392-6895
talhelmm1@southernct.edu

EMERITI

Ken Florey, Professor
African-American Literature, History of the English Language, Mythology

Office: EN274D
Phone: (203) 392-6733
floreyk1@southernct.edu 

Mark Heidmann, Professor
Biblical Literature, Religion and Literature, American Literature
heidmannm1@southernct.edu

James F. Rhodes, Professor
Chaucer, Medieval Literature
Office: EN 233D
Phone: (203) 392-6897
rhodesj1@southernct.edu