Student Information

Clinic Operating Hours

As an outpatient mental health clinic, the Marriage and Family Therapy Clinic operates on a schedule related to but separate from the SCSU academic calendar. Typically the clinic is closed for one week between semesters.  

Program Director Open Office Hours

 In addition to regular faculty office hours, monthly open office hours are scheduled with a goal of facilitating an open and transparent culture. Faculty, students, and staff are invited during this time to discuss concerns and receive advisement on how they could follow up on concerns within the program and University. Email levatinop1@southernct.edu to make an appointment.

Program and Clinic Dates

*(may be adjusted to meet school calendar and program need)

  • Tuesday, August 16 – Saturday, August 20, 2022 – MFT 563 sections continue in clinic.
  • Monday, August 22 – Saturday, August 27, 2022 – Clinic Closed, No Academic classes
  • Monday, August 29, 2022 – Fall Clinic & MFT academic classes begin, first day of Fall supervision.
  • Saturday, September 3 – Clinic Open for client continuity and care.
  • Monday, September 5 – No clinic and no academic classes, Labor Day.
  • Monday, October 24, 2022 – Saturday, October 29, 2022 – Self-care/self-study week, no clinic, no MFT classes
  • Wednesday, November 23, 2022 – Saturday November 26, 2022 - Thanksgiving recess, no clinic, no MFT classes 
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2022 – Last day of academic classes
  • Saturday, December 24, 2022 – Monday, January 2, 2023 – Clinic closed
  • Tuesday, January 3, 2023 – Clinic reopens
  • Monday, January 16, 2023 - MLK Day, Clinic Closed
  • Tuesday, January 17, 2023 – Start of Spring 2023 clinic and semester (tentative, upon BOR approval)
  • Friday, February 17 – Monday, February 20, 2023 – President’s Recess, no classes or clinic
  • Monday, March 13 – Sunday, March 19, 2023 – Spring Recess, no classes or clinic
  • Monday, May 8 – Sunday, May 14, 2023 – Exam week, clinic remains open
  • Monday, May 15 – Saturday May 20, 2023 – No clinic and no academic classes
  • Monday, May 22, 2023 – First day of Summer classes, MFT-664 and MFT-563 begin
  • Monday, May 29, 2023 – No clinic and no academic classes, Memorial Day Holiday
  • Monday, June 19, 2023 – No clinic and no academic classes, Juneteenth Holiday
  • Saturday July 1 – 4, 2023 – Clinic Closed, 4th of July
  • Tuesday, August 15, 2023 – Last day of MFT-664
  • Thursday, August 17 – 19, 2023 – MFT-563 continues in clinic
  • Monday, August 21 – Saturday, August 26, 2023 – Clinic Closed, No Academic Classes
  • Monday, August 28, 2023 – Fall Clinic & MFT academic classes begin, first day of Fall supervision (MFT-662)
  • Saturday, September 2, 2023 – Clinic Open due to client care.
  • Monday, September 4, 2023– No clinic and no academic classes, Labor Day
  • Monday, October 23 – Saturday, October 28, 2023 – Self-care/self-study week, no clinic, no MFT classes
  • Wednesday, November 22, 2023 – Saturday November 25, 2023 - Thanksgiving recess, no clinic, no MFT classes 
  • Wednesday, December 13, 2023 – Last day of academic classes
  • Saturday, December 23, 2023 – Monday, January 1, 2024 – Clinic closed
  • Tuesday, January 2, 2024 – Clinic reopens
  • Monday, January 15, 2024 – MLK Day, Clinic Closed, No Academic Classes
  • Tuesday, January 16, 2024 – Start of Spring 2024 clinic and semester (tentative, upon BOR approval)
  • Friday, February 16 – Monday, February 19, 2024 – President’s Recess, no classes or clinic
  • Monday, March 11 – Sunday, March 18, 2024 – Spring Recess, no classes or clinic
  • Monday, May 6 – Sunday, May 12, 2024 – Exam week, clinic remains open
  • Monday, May 13 – Saturday May 18, 2024 – No clinic and no academic classes
  • Monday, May 20, 2024 – First day of Summer classes, MFT-664 and MFT-563 begin
  • Monday, May 27, 2024 – No clinic and no academic classes, Memorial Day Holiday
  • Wednesday, June 19, 2024 – No clinic and no academic classes, Juneteenth Holiday
  • Thursday July 4th – 6th, 2024 – Clinic Closed, 4th of July
  • Friday, September 8, 2024 – New Student Orientation (tentative)

Student Resources

MFT Program Handbook

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy

MFT Core Competencies

SCSU MFT Attitudes & Dispositions

SCSU MFT Technical Standards

SCSU Assessment Calendar