Mary and Louis Fusco Distinguished Lecture Series

The Mary and Louis Fusco Distinguished Lecture Series is a major intellectual event in the greater New Haven area, each year bringing a political, social, or creative leader to campus.

Michael Phelps

The lectures present the Southern community and the community at large with rare opportunities to hear a variety of viewpoints on topics that influence their lives and profoundly affect their futures.

Distinguished Lecturers in the Series

2023 Spike Lee
Writer, director, producer, actor, and author
Spike Lee

2019 Michael Phelps
Olympic Champion Swimmer
Michael Phelps

2018 Joe Biden
Former Vice President

2017 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
NBA Legend, Social Justice Advocate, Cancer Survivor
kareem abdul-jabar

2016 Robin Roberts
Co-Anchor, ABC News' Good Morning America
robin roberts

2015 Mariano Rivera 
Joe Torre
New York Yankees Legends
mo rivera and joe torre

2014 Jay Leno
Former Host of The Tonight Show
jay leno

2013 Alan Alda
Actor, Science Advocate
alan alda

2012 Mark Kelly
mark kelly

2011 Michael J. Fox
Actor and Author
michael j fox

2010 Apolo Ohno
Olympic Speed-Skating Champion
apolo ohno

2009 Peter Gammons
ESPN Commentator

Brian Cashman
New York Yankees General Manager
gammons and cashman

2008 Tim Russert
Political Journalist and Analyst
tim russert

2007 Whoopi Goldberg
Actor, Comic, Humanitarian
whoopi goldberg

2006 Bill Belichick
Head Coach, New England Patriots
bill belichick

2005 Madeleine Albright
Former U.S. Secretary of State
madeleine albright

2004 Mario Cuomo
Former Governor, New York
mario cuomo

2003 Rudolph Giuliani
Former Mayor, New York City

2002 Ehud Barak
Former Prime Minister of Israel
ehud barak

2001 Dana and Christopher Reeve
Actors, Disability Rights Activists
dana and christopher reeves

2000 Walter Cronkite
Former Broadcast Journalist
walter cronkite

1999 Colin Powell
Former U.S. Secretary of State
colin powell